Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Mental Health and HIVMental Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Concerned about symptoms and possible exposure after drinking too much
Nov 7, 2011

Dear Dr. Fawcett,

I recently was very drunk and may have made a bad decision in terms of drugs. I have never used IV drugs before, however the next morning after imbibing a very unhealthy amount, I woke up with a bump on my arm that was round, red and protruding. I didn't think much of it at the time, however after 3 days, it formed a scar. It was not in a location where a vein is, and I didn't feel like I had taken any unknown substance the next day, yet the feeling that I could have made a bad decision persists and will not go away no matter how rational I try to be. Now whether or not I actually poked myself or allowed someone else to poke me with a needle is not my question, although it is the source of most of my anxiety as I cannot remember exactly what I did that night.

I received a 4th generation test 4 weeks after the risk event which was negative. After 5 weeks, I developed a headache, sore throat and slightly enlarged lymph nodes. A couple of days later I took my temperature which was normal, and since then, it has ranged from 97.5 to 99.4 in the last 2 weeks since initial symptoms. Right now it is under 98.6.