Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Mental Health and HIVMental Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Starting treatment for better relationships
Jun 13, 2011

Dear Dr, I am an HIV+ person and I need your advise in whether or not to start treatment. My last labs showed a CD4 of 431 and viral load 22,590. I have been monitoring my condition for two years and I have never gotten to the point where treatment is necessary. I do have some upsets like joint pain, continuous throat problems, etc, but other than that I am active, do exercise and have never found necessary to stay home because of sickness or anything. Two things are making me consider starting treatment: 1) improve my quality of life, and 2) have better relationships. I read recent an study in the New York Times (May 12, 2011) that claims that people under treatment, with undetectable viral load has almost no possibilities of transmitting the virus. The is a related paper from Swiss experts that goes even farther and claims that people with no other STDs, under treatment, and with at least 6 months of continuous undetectable viral load can not transmit the virus and can have children by natural ways and have unprotected sex (Vernazza P et al. Les personnes séropositives ne souffrant daucune autre MST et suivant un traitment antirétroviral efficace ne transmettent pas le VIH par voie sexuelle. Bulletin des médecins suisses 89 (5), 2008; English like at http://www.aidsmap.com/Swiss-experts-say-individuals-with-undetectable-viral-load-and-no-STI-cannot-transmit-HIV-during-sex/page/1429357/ ) I would like to know first what is my probability of transmitting the virus with my current numbers, what should I say to po