Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Mental Health and HIVMental Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Help with learning to deal with social isolation
Jun 9, 2011

I am an HIV positive social worker who has worked in the AIDS field for 12 years now. I've been positive for nearly 20 years. Because of my professional contacts, I have been keeping overly strict boundaries with my clients and even those with HIV who are not my clients. I am lonely but cannot engage the normal support groups, agency functions. I have pushed my friends away. I am very, very depressed and need help but don't know how to proceed. I am currently seeing a counselor and have a few limited close friends with whom I have sporadic contact. I should also mention that I am hard of hearing which makes it difficult for me to engage as well. I would appreciate any feedback you may have for me.

Response from Dr. Fawcett