Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Mental Health and HIVMental Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Exposed at work now partner won't come near me
Mar 30, 2011

I'm a renal community nurse and have been looking after a HIV+ patient for about three months now. When my partner first found out I was looking after him she flipped out and said she didn't want me to do it as she was scared I would bring it home with me on my uniform.

I eventually managed to explain to her that HIV is not transmittable this way and we have many security measures in place to prevent me ever picking it up - this seemed to placate her. However the other day I was emptying my patients PD bags and managed to scratch my arm with the scissors I use to cut the bags open - the scratch did not bleed although the skin was red and raised. I didn't think it would be a problem as there was no blood but I couldn't get my girlfriend's reservations out of my mind and I thought I would never forgive myself if I ignored it and the worst happened, so I called my office who advised me to get a medical evaluation.

The doctors said the risk was so small that I did not need post exposure medication, but that just to be on the safe side we should use protection until the second blood test in 3 months. When I came home and told my girlfriend this last night she seemed to take it well.