Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Mental Health and HIVMental Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Mental Health
Jan 11, 2009

I recently contracted hiv, about 4 months ago, by being drugged without my knowledge and being used as a sex toy, while not conscious of what was happening, further to realize the situation a couple of weeks later when I developed symptoms of ars. I am not handling this well at all. I am currently a grad student in medicinal chemistry, only 25 years old, and had a truly dynamic future ahead of me -- best of which, my ability to present myself is uncanning (through lots of sales work). I just cant believe this has happened to me. I would never have a random sexual encounter, moreover would never not use a condom even in a stable relationship. I am going through intense ups and downs, where I tell myself -- I'm no ordinary person I can beat this if any can I can, then at other points in the day I am seriously considering suicide and searching the web as the most appropriate of ways. I understand no one asks for this disease, but find it hard to accept it since I did not consciously have unprotected sex with anyone, like most who now acquire it have. I come from a really great family, and I love the person I have gradually becoming. And this situation is just intolerable to me, and my psyche. I really dont know what to do. The mood swings are extreme. Not extreme in the sense that I am ever really happy, but from under control to extreme panic, anxiety, even as I write this I still shock myself that this is actually my situation. MY LIFE was taken away from me, I really was looking forward to great things both professional and personally. I really dont know what to do. The thought of taking