Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Mental Health and HIVMental Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

How to help an impaired single parent with likely dementia?
Oct 20, 2007

I've known my single-parent neighbor, "Jane," who is HIV-positive, and her two daughters for 11 years. Her younger daughter was infected at birth and is now 13, so Jane has been infected at least that long and does not use medication. The family is socially isolated and has no income except Medicaid and SSI. I met them when I was an undergrad doing volunteer respite childcare and have been available to Jane as a resource as well as a regular member of the kids' lives. Jane has always had some unusual beliefs and has been reclusive, but she was a loving parent. Over the past 8 months or so, the kids and I have seen personality changes, inappropriate anger, and very poor judgment. Jane runs out of money completely 2 weeks into each month (she used to budget carefully, and I suspect she is having trouble with calculation), and there is no food in the home. Jane doesn't seem to care that she cannot feed the kids, who are at my place every night the second half of the month, not having eaten all day. Jane has also exhibited abusive behavior with the older daughter (just turned 15), calling her a cunt, and getting into a physical fight with her in which Jane kicked her in the crotch and spat on her. Jane is irritable and bizarre when I visit her. She doesn't provide for the kids' school-related or other needs and interacts with them like an angry sibling: screaming, calling the 13 y.o. a "nerd," and telling the 15 y.o. she "hates" her and doesn't want to live with her anymore. The 15 y.o. is especially