Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Mental Health and HIVMental Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Will I be able to continue as normal
Mar 15, 2001

Dear Doctor I was diagnosed HIV+ Nov 2000. I haven't started theraphy yet but my numbers are getting bad and my doctor suggests that I should start theraphy soon. I am still overwhelmed by all this (I sometimes go through up to 10 different emotions in one day - pain, anger, helplessness, shame, hope, resentfulness, anxiety etc.) My biggest worry at the moment is whether I will be able to continue with my normal life once I start medication,I am a recently qualified professional and my career has just taken off. Do all the people on medication still continue with their normal jobs or should I expect a situation where I will not be able to wake up to go to work for days/ weeks and what are my chances of me really doing well in my new profession (my work requires very long hours). Ps answer me and if possible can I get input from other positive people in my situation.

Many thanks

Response from Dr. Boyle

I certainly understand your concerns, but fortunately most of my patients continue to work and go about their usual daily activities, even though they are taking antiretrovirals. The medications have gotten much simpler and better tolerated over the past couple of years. You should discuss the medications with your doctor and review dosing schedules, side effects and other concerns you may have and he should be able to design an antiretroviral regimen that suits you best. Good luck. BB

Response from Mr. Shernoff