Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Mental Health and HIVMental Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

dealing with losses
Aug 7, 2002

I am a social work student. I have done volunteer work or internships working with people with AIDS since 1994. Recently I lost a friend from AIDS, and several other clients died (children) in the last couple months. Many of my co-workers at my new internship are also positive, and they get sick at times. i guess i'm just feeling overwhelmed. I feel deeply committed to this work- so many people i care about are infected and living- and i really enjoy my work most of the time. but the more work i do, the more people i meet and care about and stand to lose. I know this is part of the work, but i still haven't found a way to deal with these losses. this week, i feel like i don't even really want to get to know my co-workers because i feel so sad about maybe losing them too... i think its that so many deaths have piled up. i know most people are living a long time, but people are still dying. how do you deal with this effectively? any articles to recommend?

Response from Mr. Shernoff

As a new worker it is essential that you do figure out how to integrate the reality of loss into your work and life. This is an important area to spend time talking about in your supervision and in training groups with your peers. Additionally I strongly suggest that you also talk about this in your own personal therapy. What you are wrestling with has become known as "bereavement overload."