Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Stuborn HIV+
Sep 18, 2001

Hi, first time here and hope I don't ask any stupid Question. My husband found out he was HIV+ when I was pregnant 7 months. Luckliy, I was tested negative. He didn't tell me until recently. I was mad for him not telling me before baby was born. Thank god that baby and I are fine. Since I am very new to this issue, I rely on what he tells me most of time and of course I am trying very hard to search as much info as I can. (In fact, he introduced me to this site) However, there is something questionable about what he has told me. 1. Is it OK to 'take a break' from the medication? 2. Is it true that we can proceed 'normal' life even with him carring out his smoking, not eating right, not sleeping well life style? I have tried to convince him to change his life style even before I knew about this but he never listened. Is there any reason to change his life style because of this? (Maybe an expert is more convicing than I am) 3. Is it true that maybe within years, HIV+ can be cured? I am worried but don't want to panic and certainly I don't want to overstress him with my concerns. Therefore, if you could somehow put me at ease or support me with evidence, it'd make our life much easier. Thanks so much.

Response from Dr. Pavia