Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter 
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Tuberculosis Prevention When You're HIV Positive (Editor's Pick)
Aug 14, 2015

I am on stribild for 3 months, rna undetectable and cd4 590 and rising. I am happy with my drug. I am also on isoniazide for latent tb ppd was 13, my xrays are clear and no sputum. I have a feeling of itchiness and burning in my lungs, or stomach I am not sure, may be acid reflux so I take lansoprazol now.

I work in a hospital with high prevelance of active tb, I put on a mask all the time, still I am afraid, thanks to this itching/burning in my chest area. (xrays are still clear, no other symptoms, so I suspect it is a stomach issue?)

What is the risk of me developing active tb on inh profilaxis, and if I do, wil I be able to continue my stribild? From what I read, rifampin can not be used with stribild, can another drug (rifabutine) be used? If I develop active tb, will I have to change my hiv drug to something else, like truvada+efavirenz? I love my stribild and do not want to change it, yet I am deathly afraid of tb.

Response from Dr. Young

Hello and thanks for posting.

First off, there are not significant drug-drug interactions between your Stribild, isoniazid and lansoprazol.

I think you're getting way ahead of yourself in worrying about TB, rifampin and Stribild. First, stomach issues are very likely not TB- but easily could be side effects of isoniazid or many other things.