Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

RE: Truvada. Presista Norwir in Bangkok ? [Channeling Andrew]
May 29, 2013

Hi Again Dr Ben,

I am not sure if the individual wants to buy ART in Thailand when they are traveling, or online, as they reside in Beautiful France, so I will do my best to answer both!

Almost all of Thailand's Cities and larger Towns that have a large Public Hostpital have the vast selection of medications for HIV. Tho the majority dispensed are generics, manufactured in Thailand by the Thai Pharma Co. and or imported from India.

See my personal history and answer about generics below...

... Im not a Doctor, but am replying to a request for any information in regard to Thailand HIV Treatment. This is the information I know and have experienced personally.

I have been HIV+ for about 4 years. I have lived and worked in Thailand for over 9 years. I am a Western guy. I have now retired and look after myself and enjoy life.

The Thai Government have from what I have experienced a very very good medical system for all Thai's and Expat's. There are multiple choices from Private & Public Hospitals, Depending on the cost and the speed that you require. I lived in Bangkok for over 2 years and then worked and lived in a major city for 7 years and was tested in a Private Hostpital (which you pay for as an expat) All Thais have almost free medical (if not hospitalised). Yet When I needed my CD4 and Viral loads tested I have to pay. If I pay at a private hospital or public these 2 tests cost the following:

Private = 8700 THB = $281.37 USD (CD4 and Viral loads tests) Public = 1500 THB = $48.51 USD (CD4 and Viral loads tests)