Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

PEP after known HIV+ splash in eyes
Jan 29, 2013

Hi there, I work in a hospital and I recently have had a very minute amount of HIV+ blood squirt into my eye. Im not even sure if it actually went in. All i know is that it was so small to the point that my eye didnt even water or get irritated. Anyways, The doctors told me its a small risk but since the source is a known HIV+ and is very ill, they put me on truvada and isentress for 30 days. I went on the drugs within 12 hours. I just want to know how bad my risk is. Im freaking out and I dont know what to do. I seem to be tolerating the drugs well but i do feel out of it. I just want to know if i was right to go on the drugs, and what my outlook looks like. thanks in advance.

Response from Dr. Young

Hi and thanks for posting.

With a known HIV+ source and ill (perhaps implying having detectable viremia), and with the knowledge that ocular exposures can (however rarely) result in HIV infection, I think that PEP is reasonable. It does sound like your exposure was quite small, and therefore of lower risk.