Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

PEP Regimen Question
Mar 31, 2012

Thailand doctor gave me Stocrin 600mg once a day and Zilarvir (Lamivudine 150mg / Zidovudine 30mg) twice daily.

I just want to be sure this is the correct, and absolute best regimen I can be on for preventing HIV infection. I am flying home to the USA early and will get something else if this isn't the best.

I had two short sessions of unprotected vaginal sex with someone who has HIV. I took my first pills roughly 9 hours after exposure. She agreed to get tested immediately after the event and came up positive. Needless to say I am terrified.

I work in the medical industry and I am a little confused why there seems to be a random smorgasbord of regimens for pep. Surely they can't all be equal. Surely some meds are newer and better than older ones. I don't want to be on something marginally "okay" if there's better.

What is the latest, greatest, and strongest?

Response from Dr. Young

Hello and thanks for posting.

First, sounds like you were able to start your nPEP (non-occupational exposure, per se) very quickly after your exposure. This bodes well for the effectiveness of treatment in preventing HIV infection.