Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

change of regimen (scheduled for tomorrow)
Mar 18, 2012

Dear experts, i was diagnosed positive about 10 months ago in Thailand with CD4 count 57. drug resistance and viral load have not been tested prior to treatment beginning. Treatment with Stavudine/Lamivudine/Nevirapine have very successfully kicked viral load down to <40cop. and CD4 is at 240 about 2 months ago. I started studying treatment guidelines in google and learned that Stavudine should be removed due to >80% risk (chance) of lipodistrophy and the combination tenofovir/lamivudine/nevirapine has high failure rate and high risk of mutation development. Finally i tend to switch to truvada/nevirapine. efavirenz would not allow future pregnancy. Prior to switch, i would like to know your opinion. Truvada seem to be commonly agreed as nrti part of regimen, but i am not 100% sure, which nnrti i should use. after 10 months, i could not see any side effects using nevirapine, which let me tend to continue. I just read, that lipoatrophy in face would be a common problem after long term use of nevirapine. What would be the most recommended trucada-combination in your opinion ? Adherence is no problem for me. My local HCP treats according to national health scheme budget plans, which i do not want to use due to high difference to western treatment guidelines. Thanks alot, Tina

Response from Dr. McGowan

Dear Tina,