Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Celiac disease and absorption of HIV meds
Aug 19, 2011

Dear colleagues: I am a physician working in Buenos Aires, Argentina. My patient is a HIV-infected, asymptomatic, 55 y.o. man 100% adherent to his medication. He started HAART with 362 CD4 cells and a >6 log VL. He started abacavir-3TC-atazanavir/r. His VL dropped, but, after 12 months the VL remained between 2-2.3 log. In order to perform a genotyping, I stopped his treatment and asked him to perform the genotype 2 weeks off therapy. The study did not show relevant mutations. Taking into account his high basal VL, I considered his first HAART as a weak combination, so I proposed him to change the HAART. I proposed him TDF-3TC-LPV/r. He started this new HAART and the VL remained at same levels (2-2.3 log). In an attempt to increase the potency, I added AZT (I thought that this unorthodox approach might help lower the VL...), but the VL remained in the same levels. I stopped AZT. Now, he is on TDF-3TC-LPV/r, and the VL is... detectable. Recently, he received a presumptive diagnosis of celiac disease. He has not diarrhea, he is not malnourished... Do you know any negative influence of celiac disease on the absorption of antiretrovirals? Thank you. Edgardo

Response from Dr. Young

Buenos dias Dr. Edgardo and thanks for posting from Buenos Aires.

It would appear that you've given a very thoughtful analysis of your patient's situation. Indeed, the strategies that you've employed might have been ones that we'd use here in Denver.