Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

When to begin treatment
Dec 31, 2008

As you can imagine, I have had lots questions post my recent diagnosis and after being a big believer in the power of the internet, in this case, I find that I'm begining to hate it. There just seem to be so many contradicting views as to when and how best to treat HIV, the various effects/side effects and the impact on life expectancy. Not being a doctor I'm confused as to the science behind all these arguments and I dont want to be second guessing people that know better than I do. My doctors view was that, I could live a healthy normal life for a while and that it would be best to stay off treatment for as long as possible because the treatments themselves are strong and effectively poison you over a period. Yet there are many arguments to the contary that treatment should be started as soon as diagnosed. My CD4 count was 498 and my viral load was found to be 500,000.Can you help me to understand why the many opposing views and what you would advise.

Response from Dr. McGowan