Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Sustiva or Viramune
May 28, 2008

I see you have been on just about every HIV drug company's speaker bureau. As an HIV patient and research chemist, I would like to know what data you can point me to that suggest Sustiva is better than Viramune. I am actively involved in keeping up to date with the current literature. As a research chemist, I could not afford to deal with the side effects of vivid dreams, depression..etc. Could you please point me to statisticaly significant data showing your strong support for sustiva? As a physician, would you take sustiva without taking off a month of work?

Response from Dr. Wohl

I would not say that efavirenz is "better' than nevirapine. Better at what? For some people, one is a better choice than the other. For you, leery of the central nervous system side effects of efavirenz, nevirapine may be a better option - provided your CD4 cell count is not above 400 if you are a man or 250 if you are a women.