Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Hepatitis C
Apr 18, 2007

Dr. wants to start treatment on me in 5 weeks. Said I am level 1 and have 85 % chance to cure if use these meds for 1 -1/2 years: Inferion Pill 4 x a day and a shot of Pegysis R once a week. Said it will make me sick and will have to be on disability as I will not be able to function properly at work. I am an administrator of a school. Do I have to give up my job? Does this sound right?

Response from Dr. Pierone

Actually it sounds harsh and perhaps a bit premature. The staging system for hepatitis C is based on the degree of fibrosis observed on liver biopsy. Stage 0 is no fibrosis, stage 1 is mild, stage 2 is moderate, stage 3 is severe, and stage 4 is cirrhosis. It takes on average, about 10 years to progress from one stage to the next, although the rate of progression is faster if one is co-infected with HIV.

Since the natural history of HCV plays out over many years it is often possible to hold off on therapy and see how rapidly (or slowly) the disease progresses. Especially now that it seems we may be on the cusp of a major advance in therapy with the development of hepatitis C protease inhibitors like VX-950 (Telaprevir).

Recent studies with this agent have shown very high rates of rapid virologic response when this agent is combined with Pegasys and ribavirin. Here is a link to a report of the most recent data presented at the European liver meetings.