Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

This is all I have to look forward to?
Jun 9, 2006

Hi Doctors, I have just embarked on what is now a new life, a life with HIV. Im very angry with myself for getting in this predicament when it all could have been so easily avoidedit was a one time lapse in judgment. I must tell you I am scared out of my mind and very sad. I am new to all of this (i.e. largely ignorant about this virus). I know its an STD, extremely deadly and a retrovirus that has the ability to incorporate itself in our cells. Other than that, Im not very well-informed. I just visited a well-respected doc who sees some HIV patients in the area to get some preliminary blood results done. I have not visited any HIV sites before (this is the first one I have looked at). I was referred to this site by a close friend who told me that the docs on this site were experts and very caring and that I should see what you guys think. I need help, I need your thoughts. I have not gotten a chance to read through your forums, but I plan on doing so after I post this message. After visiting my HIV doc, I came away a complete wreckprobably the worst I have ever felt in my entire life. I want to relay to you the things he told me and see if you concur. If sowell, whats done is done. These are pretty much his exact wordsI made sure I took it all in despite how painful it was. Well, he told me Im sorry that you have acquired this disease. That said, it was entirely preventable and the choice you made will now impact your life forever and probably not in a favorable way. I know that youre scared and you have every right to be. HIV