Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Luekine
Sep 24, 2005

I tested positive when the test came out (86?), and have had low <50 t cell counts for about 15 years. I have been injecting luekine 3 x a week for about 6 years. My insurance co. decided my co-pay should be $450 a month, not $35 a month, so I tried doing without it for a month, and got sick. Curiously, there didn't seem to be any difference in my blood work, but i got a lot of skin infections including a big one under my arm and felt tired and lousy. My doctor says there aren't any lower cost drugs that do the same thing. Do you know if it is possible to get luekine in Canada or somewhere else cheaper? Do you know of any other comparable drug? This is a lot of money on top of my $600 monthly insurance payment and $200/mo in drug co-pays. How can anybody afford to live? I just turned 50 and am still working and in OK health otherwise, although I have cycled through all the HIV drugs (except t-20) at least once and am on my 2nd and 3rd go rounds.

Also, what is the difference between luekine and IL-2?

Al

Response from Dr. Young

Al, thanks for your post.