Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Truvada replacing combivir
Jan 17, 2005

Hi, I have been using Combivar 2 a day, and Sustiva now for about 3 years and very effectivly. My doc wants me to start using the relativly new drug Truvada (1 a day) with the Sustiva. I see Truvada as a relativly 'new' medication and wonder if you think it's be wise to wait six month or so just as a precaution. Just thinking the 'real world' is a real testing ground. My doc said it's up to me. Think I am being overly cautious?

Response from Dr. Young

Thanks for your post.

Your reposting of this makes me think that you're looking for a third opinion (one from your doctor and one from Dr. Pierone and one from me). I too am a "aint-broke, don't fix" kinda doctor.

You've been on a simple, highly recommended treatment successfully for the past three years. This means to me that it's highly unlikely that you'll have any issues in the coming years on Combivir and Sustiva. Unless you were having significant untoward symptoms or side effects, or were having difficulty with the twice daily nature of Combivir, I wouldn't be particularly anxious about switching.

While there is a clinical study that demonstrates that up front, persons tend to tolerate Truvada better than Combivir, once accounting for this initial tolerability, there does not seem to be dramatic differences in the two medications, when dosed with Sustiva.

You are correct in that tenofovir and FTC (the two halves of Truvada) are newer medications, and given your situation, I don't think that waiting and watching the developments would be unreasonable.