Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Acceptable lag between doses?
Mar 29, 2004

I have a simple yet important question. Because I work in retail, my work schedule constantly changes. I have chosen to take my once-a-day meds at a time of night when I am certain to be home, whether I work late or not. However, if there should ever be a time when I am unable to take my meds at exactly the time I have chosen, what would be considered an "acceptable lag" time between doses? For example, I take my meds at 11pm. If I miss the 11pm dose, how much time can pass before I take that missed dose without completely messing up my med schedule? Thank you for your help!

Response from Dr. Lee