Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Strenght, power,
Mar 30, 2003

Dr.C.C. I am wondering how strong Tenofovir is? I swithced my D4T to Tenofovir last July and everything is fine, vl below 50, T4 at 400. I am now on 3TC,Tenofovir, Abacavir and Neviripine. I may have some level of 3tc resistance. I wonder if I could drop abacavir? I have been treating HIV for 13 years.

Response from Dr. Cohen

So - based on what you've said here - the combo you've got is working well. Virus controlled, you feel well. Pretty easy to do - since most of these are either one or two pills per day. But under the surface the concern is that there might be some 3TC resistance - and what to do?

Well - first to address your point. Tenofovir - or viread -is a new member of this nucleoside/nucleotide family of antivirals. Meaning chemically it's a cousin of the 3TC and abacavir in terms of how it controls HIV growth. And therefore we do worry about resistance in this family of meds - the more resistance you have to, for example, AZT, the more resistance you'd have to Viread. Resistance to just 3TC is unlikely to do a lot to the potency of viread - since viread is, by the waym among the stronger, more potent drugs in this class.