Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter 
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Am I a candidate for treatment?
Mar 16, 2002

I seroconverted exactly four months ago today, and had an "undetermined" test result one month ago. I followed this with a viral load test and learned that my viral load is 4,070 and my T cell count is at around 500. I've been to two doctors for opinions, and one said the current thinking is to wait for meds until I need them down the line. The other doctor believes I am a candidate for structured interruption treatment since I am newly seroconverted. He suggested a daily regime that includes Ziagen, viread and epivar. I am a pro-active person, and frankly, the idea of sitting around and waiting for a few years makes me a little uncomfortable. On the other hand, I want to make an informed decision before committing to a serious drug regimine. I should add that I think both doctors are excellent. I have done much research, but find so much conflicting information. Can you offer any insights to someone in my position? Thank you for your consideration.

Response from Dr. Young

There is conflicting information and opinion about just when to start medications. I certainly won't be the first or last person to chime in on opinion.