Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Lipodystrophy and WastingLipodystrophy and Wasting

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Perisphinctal Fat Loss
Oct 12, 2003

I have been HIV for 15 years now and have experienced some lipodystrophy, more so in my lower extremities mainly my buttock. My Dr. called it Perisphinctal (sp) Fat Loss. I used to have a really full buttock but now the skin hangs from my lower butt/top of inner thigs to my testicales. I find it so very unattractive that I will not let anyone see me naked from behind, really crimps the dating scene.

This happened about 4 years ago whereby I switched to Sustive/Combivir. I have had a slight reversal everywhere except my butt. My Dr. said "brown" fat is very difficult to replace.

Do you know of any cosmetic surgeon who may be able to fix this. The ones I have contacted said there is nothing that can be done.

Thank you for any and all help.

Response from Dr. Moyle