Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Lipodystrophy and WastingLipodystrophy and Wasting

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

re: you have been right all along [non-HIV]
Aug 29, 2003

Miss Fields-Gardner

Thank you for the response, but you didn't really answer my question. I clearly stated that diet is not the problem - I am a student of diet and exercise - please don't waste time on things that have already been ruled out. That is the problem I have with doctors and the reason it becomes more and more difficult to deal with health professionals - they don't listen.

My question to you mainly asks what to do about the cortisol level if the cause for it wasn't ever pin-pointed - as seems to be the problem in my particular case. Steroidogenesis inhibitors are in trials now, and I was hoping for a comment from you on these up and coming drugs. Maybe dexamethasone suppression can keep the cortisol down as well - it did when I did a short term test with it. But are there long term problems with dexamethisone? I'm betting there are.