Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Lipodystrophy and WastingLipodystrophy and Wasting

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Onxidrin and adrogel
Feb 28, 2003

Hi I am on an Hiv combo (viramune/viread/combivir) now and also on diabetic medications (avandia/glucophage). I have been using adrogel for over 5 years now and now I have added oxandrin in order to gain more weight. The doctor said I should do oxandrin for 3 months and then stop. I also asked him if I could stop adrogel at the same time. He said adrogel should be discontinued slowly. My question is would my body be able go back to normal if I stop androgel? When should I test my self again for my testosterone levels? tha

Response from Ms. Fields-Gardner

Topical testosterone (such as androgel) and oral anabolic testosterone analogues (such as oxandrin) are generally given for different circumstances. Topical testosterone is recommended to provide testosterone replacement at a "physiologic level," the level it would be expected for your body to have if it were making its own. Oral anabolic medications are generally given to enhance weight and body composition and don't replace the testosterone your body might normally make.

Cycling is recommended to allow your body to maintain the ability to produce your own hormones. By going off both at the same time without close supervision you can experience some of the "withdrawal" symptoms of depression and weight loss.