Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Legal Issues and HIVLegal Issues and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Am I legally responsible in telling my patient's HIV status to his intimate significant other?
Jan 1, 2013

I work in a hospital, and I have the privilege of meeting all sorts of people, including those infected with HIV. Some are newly diagnosed and refuses to tell their spouse. As a healthcare professional, it is my duty to protect my patient's rights. Am I legally obligated to tell the spouse or intimate significant other? (I know if she takes him to court, he may be charged with aggravated assault with a deadly weapon) Will his healthcare providers be charged with accessory to his crime? -Texas Nurse

Response from Ms. Douaihy

Dear Writer,

You inquire specifically whether 1) as a health care professional in Texas you are obligated to notify an HIV-positive patient's partner of your patient's HIV status, and 2) whether you may be held criminally liable if you fail to notify such partner of the same.