Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Understanding Your LabsUnderstanding Your Labs

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Inconsistent anti HCV results
Dec 21, 2008

Hi Doctor, I went in to my internist for a routine bloodwork. I am a dentist, so we decided to do a complete hep panel. I subsequently came back with positive for hepc antibodies. MD felt i was low risk and told me it maybe a false positive. MD told me to go to a different lab for a new antibody test, RIBA and HCV RNA QUANT. So far the new antibody test is negative so lab did not do the riba. we are still waiting for the hcv rna. The problem is that my internist will be out of town for 3-4 weeks. All emergencies are directed to another clinic/hospital. MD strongly felt that the first test was definitely a false pos. and there is no urgency. LFT were wnl.

I dont feel I have been exposed. However, there are a few incidences which do raise my anxiety.