Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Understanding Your LabsUnderstanding Your Labs

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

hiv
Nov 22, 2008

dear sir my father was detected has an HIV positive around two years back.that time his CD-4 count was 93.after that he was started with HAART medicines which are as follows-lamivudine,zidovudine,neviprine and some more i dint rememmber all.his problem started with weakness in left leg and slowly-slowly to full left half of body.mental condition was declining and sweating a lot. all required check ups were done when nothing could be find out.i was a biology student so i thought to take my father for MRI scanning of brain as i thought some problem will be there in brain. when reports came it shows something like grey matter is decreasing in the brain where as white matter is increasing . doctors termed it as sub cortical dementia . and suggested for further tests and one of them was HIV and finally he was detected positively at present his condition is ok although he was a chain smoker and drinks heavily still he dont have any presence of lung infection or liver infection. his CD-4 count is also increased and usually varies between 250-300. a good improvement is also seen in his left half although not like before.