Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Understanding Your LabsUnderstanding Your Labs

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

CD4% and Selenium
Sep 21, 2008

Hello Dr. Holodniy, A few months ago I wrote you that me and my HIV+ partner have been daily taking Green Tea and 200g Selenium supplements. He has been at least 8 years in the undetectable virus stadium and his CD4 count has increased over the last year from 550, 580, 638, 618 and today 583 since taking the extra supplements. I take the supplements as a preventive program I use myself, living with an HIV+ partner. Last time, you asked me about his CD4%. I have that information now; 41%, 38%, 40%, 43%, and today 39%. I work as a Biochemistry/Toxicology Lab Tech and have studying alternative ways to improve the Immune System and Block HIV from Spreading. I have learned that Green Tea supplements block HIV from entering T-Cells at the gp-120 receptor and also prevents Reverse Transcriptase. Selenium strengthens the cell wall, reduces Free Radicals, binds with metals and boosts Killer cells, T-Cells and Macrophages. Both Selenium and Green Tea work in synergy. Also I am Circumsized at birth (i.e.; before puberty) - Apparently, that is a strong protector against infection, as well. My question is what are your thoughts on us having unprotected sex if I am the active partner??? He is worried, as he does not want to risk infecting me - I can understand this, as he has been positive for 13 years. But, my reasoning is that the virus would have to be "Superman" to come out of its dormant state... surpass the drugs he is taking daily..surpass his undetectable status.. surpass the Green Tea and Selenium he takes...surpass my circumsision... and then