Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Understanding Your LabsUnderstanding Your Labs

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

How do I describe my state of health?
Jan 15, 2006

I am 49 years old. I was diagnosed HIV+ in 1998 with a CD4 count of 30 and a viral load of 1.5 million. I went on welfare for a period of two years. Just prior to testing HIV+ I was diagnosed with a psychotic disorder and major depression. I was treated with Zyprexa and Zoloft. I started returning to work in 2001. I have been on antidepressants (Zoloft, then Cipramil and now Avvanza).

I had an attack of shingles which affected multiple dermatomes in 2002 when my CD4 count had climbed to the mid-400s. I have been working full-time again since 2003. My CD4 count is currently in the 750s.

Different doctors have told me different things about what I have experienced. Some say I have had AIDS, but others say I have had a low CD4 count and some bouts of ill health.

Perhaps I'm a bit naive, but what is an appropriate description of what I have been through. Have I had AIDS for 7 years, or have the definitions changed so much that I fall into another category?

Curious.

Response from Dr. Holodniy

You had AIDS, and currently do not. I look at this from the point of where your immune system is today.

Previous
My Hepatitic
Next
Understanding Instability

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Get Email Notifications When This Forum Updates or Subscribe With RSS

Advertisement

Q&A TERMS OF USE