Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Hepatitis and HIV CoinfectionHepatitis and HIV Coinfection

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

university of zululand
Jun 12, 2001

Hi, I am a student in Communication Science at the University of Zululand in South Africa. For our ACER02 module/course I have to contact someone knowledgeable or working in the field of HIV/AIDS and ask some questions which hopefully you will respond to using the email mode. Our lecturer (Dr Volker Hooyberg - vhooyber@pan.uzulu.ac.za) wants me to put the following questions to you:

Question 1 Is there a cure for HIV/AIDS related diseases?

Question 2 How does the outside world (outside of South Africa) view the HIV/AIDS pandemic in our country? Please share your oipinion with me?

Question 3 What should South Africans do to "stop" the spread of this disease?

Thank you very much.

Yours faithfully SP Mngoma

Student number: 991126

Response from Dr. Pavia

Dear Mngoma,

There is no cure for AIDS or HIV. There are many effective ways to prevent the spread, although most countries in the world have failed to employ them well (including the United States). There are treatments which can slow the course of the disease dramatically, but these are not a cure. Some of the infections associated with HIV, such as tuberculosis can be cured.