Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Testosterone shots effect on sexual function
Jul 28, 2000

Hi Dr. Frascino,

Some Background

I am a 49 year old male and have been HIV positive for 10 years. I have been on Combovir and Crixivan for 3 years now with little to no side effects. My viral load has been undetectable (below 50) and my tcells (currently 800) have been in the normal range for almost 3 years now. My CBC's have also all been well in the normal range.

Recently, I had been experiencing fatigue and my doc tested my testosterone level and found it to be very low. He prescribed testosterone shots which I have been receiving for the past 2 months. The fatigue has definitely decreased since the testosterone shots.

Question

I have noticed recently, that when I get an erection, my penis seemed to be bent to the side. I saw a urologist who determined that there did not appear to be any lumps or anything unusual. He did suggest that, although there appeared to be no scarring or lumps, that the "bending" may be a sign of early stages of Peyronie's disease. He recommended that I take 800 IU of Vitamin E and see what happened. I have been taking the Vitamin E for about 3 weeks, and the "side bending" of my penis has now changed to a "downward bending". My HIV doc does not seem to think that this is a side effect of the testosterone or the HIV meds.

Have you ever heard of anyone complaining about this before?

Any information you can provide will be very much appreciated!

Thanks!

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,