Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HIV/AIDS, co-diagnosis Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, antivirals, toxic chemical exposure.
Sep 24, 1998

I am a Registered Nurse working in Australia in health promotion, education, information and counselling for people with HIV. I have lived with symptoms of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome now for over ten years. My work indicates to me that there are numbers of people living with HIV who also have an unrecognised dual diagnosis of CFS/HIV. These people may also be unusualy intolerant of antiviral and other medication. Recent research in Australia indicates organochlorine pesticides play a significant role in CFS. The conventional view in Australia regarding extreme fatigue in people with HIV is that HIV alone causes this. Is there any research of which you are aware, that is being undertaken to investigate any realtionship between fatigue, HIV, CFS and exposure to pesticides and other environmental toxins? I suspect that a more open minded approach to this question may provide significant results.

Response from Mr. Molaghan