Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Hot Yoga
Mar 27, 2010

Hi Dr. Bob

I have a question about HIV and Hot Yoga.

Hot Yoga is a series of 26 yoga postures performed in a room that is 115 degrees farenheit and with room humidity somewhere around 50%.

The class is physially exhausting for anyone. You break a sweat after the first 5 minutes and continue to sweat for the entire 90 minute duration (unlike traditional yoga, you are allowed to consume water - and I tend to drink about a litre during the class).

I love it and don't want to stop. But I also want to make sure it is safe for me. My CD4 count is around 500 and the virus is almost supressed (I'm new to drugs). After classes I am physically weak, but so is everyone else in the class.

Is the extreme heat and humidity combined with fairly intense exercise safe for HIV+ people.

Thanks in advance.

G

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hey G,

Hot yoga sounds hot! Can I come and watch? (I'll post below some questions from the archives about my yoga experiences.)

As for your question, I see no reason whatsoever why you shouldn't continue to turn your body into a sweaty pretzel. Just make sure you remain hydrated.

Be well.

Dr. Bob

double sandwich Jun 23, 2009

thanks a lot dr bob for answering me, im the yoga guy. i assume that "you've got to be kidding me pose" was product of that advil pose, haha. yesterday i emailed the lab where i tested, cause i didnt know what kind of elisa they performed to me. Today the dr say its a 3rd generation elisa, based on a double sandwich technique :P is this accurate? does it is still used in the united states? (im in latin america)

Hi Yoga Guy,