Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HCW--possible exposure
Nov 3, 2005

Dear Dr. Frascino,

I am a med student who completed an OB/GYN rotation approximately 8 months ago. During a laparascopic ectopic pregnancy resection, my resident pulled out the suction/irrigation with the CO2 supply still on. As a result, I was splashed with blood. At the time, I was fully gowned with a protective face shield. However, as I'm sure you are aware, this set-up does not protect your neck from blood exposure. I am not sure if my skin came in contact with blood or not. After the procedure, I checked my neck, but I did not see any visible blood. This was 20 minutes later, however. 5 weeks later, I had an episode of very painful sores on the posterior border of my tongue. I have had these in the past, although not as severe as I experienced with this episode. Also, I had what looked to be a painless exuduate on my tonsils. No other symptoms. Approximately 2.5 months after the possible exposure, I developed a pneumonia, which my Dad subsequently contracted. 3 weeks later, I again noted these painless exudates on my tonsils. Finally (I apologize for the length of the letter), for the last two months I have had chronic abdominal pain, flatulence, gaseous distention, alternating constipation/mushy stools. This was preceded by 1 week of acute watery diarrhea with fatigue, which 2 of my family members also experienced. They have not, however, had the chronic symptoms like I have had. I realize this could be IBS, but I am more concerned that I have Giardia, which I have read is more common in HIV+ individuals. I also worry that this could be HIV enteropathy. I should ha