Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

do I have aids?
Jun 12, 2005

In february I had my first test for HIV--positive. My blood work indicated that my T-cells were less than 20 and virus load was 80,000 or 800,000, I'm not sure. I must admit I was feeling pretty cruddy for a long time--fevers and nightsweats for a year straight over the last year; oral yeast infection for 11 years; two incidents of pnuemonia, strep; but always managed to get to work, ride my bike and do what I had to do (not effortlessly, no doubt); I've been being treated for my infection for about 3 - 4 months with Sustiva/Truvada, Diflucon, and some other preventive meds. My virus load has really taken a hit. "138" --I don't know the zeros, if any; My T-cells have gone up to about 64; (down from 68 2 months ago) I must admit I feel much better (I was so stupid before--confused, fevered, achy, clumbsy, etc.) TIRED! but now that I've been reading up on HIV/AIDS, I can't help but wonder, do I have AIDS? Everyone else with HIV seems so much healthier "cell-wise" than me, although I think I've been able to do more than most. What's up? I've been afraid to ask.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,

If and when someone's T-cell count falls below 200, a diagnosis of AIDS is confirmed. Your initial T-cell count was 20 and consequently you do have an AIDS diagnosis.