Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

insatiable curiosity
Sep 21, 2004

Hi Dr. Bob- I am relatively new to HIV/AIDS (tested poz 04/04 after thrush) and have since devoured each line of this website. You and your collegues helped me realize realize that I am indeed in control of my destiny, and that in a civilized society, it is our duty to care for one another.

I have refrained from asking self-indulgent questions but this one is killing me. I thought you, Dr Bob, beeing the way-coolest, would be the most likely to answer. Now that I have 4 sets of #'s - is there any way to estimate how long I've been infected? These are the only unprotected encounters (anal/recieving) I ever had:

2002/ condom broke at beginning of sex episode - no ejaculation or precum noted - the guy was hyper-paraniod about HIV and I wonder.

2000-2001/ partner2 - tough to explain, enigmatic relationship. He took many pills, often right after meals- said they were vitamins. Other red flags make me think he was poz and aware. I have not called him on it cause he will certainly not tell the truth if it's so. In 2000 I had shingles (so did 2 other people where I worked) and tested neg. for HIV about 4 weeks later. Was shingles my sero-conversion illness and I tested too soon for antibodies to be present? Does this neg. rule out my previous partner or could the test have been faulty?

1993-1995/ partner1 - the only time I had ejaculate inside.

05/01/04 - cd4-44 Vl.750k+

05/28/04 - cd4-195 vl. still 750k+ after 13 days on sustiva,FTC,viread and 4 days in a psychiatric hospital.

07/01/04- cd4-335(had been taking neupogen) vl. 87k after 2 weeks reyataz,FTC/viread.

08/11/04- cd4-220 vl. 4k after 8 weeks