Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

fatigue and Serostim for women
Mar 17, 2001

My energy level is really low and when my testostorone level was checked, it was below the detectable level. I am an HIV+ woman, 35 years old. My doctor put me on Serostim because he felt that I wouldn't have the male side-effects with this. I am wondering if it wouldn't be better to take a low-dosage of testosterone. The Serostim is very difficult to get because of the cost and I don't notice a change in my energy level. I've been injecting it for two months. Thank you for your help!

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello,

Serostim (human recombinant growth hormone) is used to treat AIDS wasting, not problems with fatigue or low testosterone. Certainly, if you've lost a significant amount of muscle mass (AIDS wasting) and are treated with Serostim and replace some of that muscle, your stamina might improve, but in general, growth hormone is not a recommended treatment for fatigue. Also, you've tried it for 2 months without improvement, so I'd suggest it's time to try something else. Testosterone? Well, women do make a certain amount of testosterone - a much lower amount than men obviously. Your physician or gynecologist should be able to measure your hormones and recommend supplements if they are not within the normal range. If you need an anabolic agent - that means something to help you build muscle that won't have masculinizing effects like testosterone - I would suggest Oxandrin (oxandrolone).