Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

I'm fatigued and sleep 12 hrs a day. Doctor doesn't know why.
Nov 28, 2002

I'm a 28 yr old grad student. For the last month to six weeks (exactly when is a little obscure), I have been really tired, and needing to sleep as much as I can. I also feel light-headed when I go to school(specifically, when I go out, but these days I only go to school). I'm under alot of stress, but I have been for a long time, and haven't felt like this. Finals are coming up , and I do get very nervous about that sometimes, e.g. hives, shortness of breath. The M.D. ran some blood tests: CBC and HIV, as well as an UA. Nothing was abnormal except my WBC was very high. If I remember correctly, it was about 17. I was exposed to HIV just over 3 months ago. I also developed a very bad kidney infection over the summer that went undiagnosed for too long. I took 20 days of Cipro. I also contracted herpes shortly before that time. I also have a history of bleeding excessively, i.e. 120 days at a time, BC pills give me migraines. Another concern: I have a very good friend with HCV who is my neighbor. No intimate contact, but shared meals, etc. I used his toothbrush once. I am giving you alot of info, but I am concerned about what is going on.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello,