Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

terrified of possible exposure, breastfeeding
Aug 6, 2002

DR. FRASCINO, I WORK IN A HOSPITAL AS AN RN & I AM WORRIED ABOUT A POSSIBLE EXPOSURE. I WAS DOING A ROUTINE ASSESSMENT ON A POSTPARTUM PATIENT WHEN I TOUCHED A "CHUX PAD" THAT HAD VISIBLE BLOOD ON IT W/OUT GLOVES. I WEAR GLOVES ALL THE TIME BUT HAD TAKEN THEM OFF TO USE MY STETHOSCOPE NEVER THINKING THAT I COULD HAVE AN EXPOSURE OF THIS KIND. THE ISSUE THAT CONCERNS ME MOST IS THAT I HAVE VERY DRY CRACKED HANDS FROM THE HOSPITAL SOAP. I DO NOT REMEMBER SEEING ANY CRACKED,OPEN BLEEDING AREAS ON THAT HAND BUT I WAS FREAKED OUT AND WASHED MY HANDS QUICKLY. I DO NOT KNOW HER HIV STATUS AS SHE HAD NO PRENATAL RECORD ON THE CHART THE DAY I CARED FOR HER. THIS INCIDENT OCCURED A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO AND I NO LONGER HAVE ACCESS TO HER RECORDS. IS THIS A POSSIBLE EXPOSURE SITUATION. ALSO, WHAT IS THE RISK OF TRANSMISSION IF BLOOD SPLATTERS ON YOUR LIPS OR IN YOUR EYES. I AM WORRIED BECAUSE THESE TYPES OF THINGS HAPPEN OCCASIONALLY. I AM BREASTFEEDING A BABY PRESENTLY AND AM SCARED I MAY HAVE GIVEN HIM SOMETHING. HE HAS BEEN RUNNING A HIGH FEVER FOR SEVERAL DAYS, WENT TO THE DR. & HE SAID IT WAS VIRAL (LOW WBC'S), BUT THEN HE DEVELOPED A RASH AFTER FEVER BROKE. PLEASE RESPOND. I AM VERY SCARED ABOUT THE HEALTH OF MY CHILD MORE THAN ANYTHING. I HAVE AN APPT. WITH MY DR. TO HAVE AN HIV TEST NEXT WEEK BUT THE WORRYING IS DRIVING ME CRAZY AND I CANNOT STOP THINKING ABOUT THIS. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR TIME, EXPERTISE, AND WILLINGNESS TO HELP PEOPLE. YOU AND EVERYONE ELSE THAT RESPONDS TO QUESTIONS ARE TRULY PROVIDING A GREAT SERVICE!

Response from Dr. Frascino