Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Using Androgel
May 13, 2002

Hey Doc, I have to say...your answers to the questions asked are excellent. Kudos to youthe service you provide is outstanding! I only wish you had been around 17 years ago when I first tested positive--I was a survivor way before Survivor!

I have been using Androgel for several years--after having used decadurabolin shots for several years. I am confused about the differences between these two drugs. I have been told that Androgel DOES NOT cause the production of testosterone, and yet, I definitely "perform" better when I use it. I know they are both Steroids of sorts. I also know that the use of both has helped me bulk up over the yearsmy body responds rapidly to any gym routinea blessing for a guy who was always called a wimp and faggot growing up!

Lastly, I have an HIV negative partner who works out diligently without the degree of success that I experience. He has asked me about using my Androgel. (I have a lot left over as I often forget to use it.) Will it hurt him or help him to bulk up? I know you cannot recommend him to use my prescription, but I would appreciate any warnings and/or facts you can share. He has already been using it!

Thanks from a real Survivor

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hey Real Survivor!

Thanks for writing and for your kind comments. Maybe we could form some sort of club - "Real Survivors" - HIV-positive guys who were wimps as kids, but then with a little help from testosterone supplements and a lot of time pumping iron, became hard-bodied muscle studs.