Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Sooooo tired.....
Jan 17, 2002

Dear Dr:

I have had HIV for about 3years and at last count my CD4-1297 and my VRL-72. I am not on meds, but I have been so tired, I can hardly function. I also have a tendency to be a little anemic at times, but I have started taking my prozac regularily (can't imagine why). Is this fatigue medicine related or might I need to take an iron supliment? Or is fatigue like this common in people with HIV? I've only been diagnosed for 5 months, so I'm still learning.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,

From an immunologic standpoint, you are doing well with a nice high CD4 count of 1297. Your viral load is low at 72. I agree you should not be on anti-HIV meds at this time, but rather continue to follow your CD4 count and viral load periodically. You certainly are not alone in feeling fatigued. As it turns out, fatigue is the most common complaint of those of us living with the virus. The cause is often multifactorial, which means often several different things are contributing to our overall feelings of excessive tiredness. In your case, 2 of the most common, if not the most common, factors are probably contributing.