Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Fatigue and AnemiaFatigue and Anemia

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Sadly, I have to revert to you
Jan 17, 2002

Dear Doctor I hate doing this. I know it is the wrong forum and NY Jack will be annoyed with me. I read your column daily and I share many of the sentiments with the other readers - You truly understand. I have written several times to the other forums and I am somewhat concerned that sometimes there is no response and if there is a response it is quite harsh and I think that makes us a little more helpless and uncomfortable. Unfortunately, you seem to be the only one that gets to the crux of issues. I am a young student and recently received oral sex from a lady. I hated every bit of it and I immedaitely washed myself of the saliva. Within two - four weeks I developed blurred vision, pain around my chest, general feeling of malaise, uncertainty, sore throat, muscular pain, slight headache, flu conditions. I got myself tested within 14 days. No problem. It is now 5 months and these conditions still persist. I came home for the holidays and my parents are a bit concerned about me and I do not have the courage to tell them. I probably will after reading Fr Rod's column and then get them to accomapny me for a test. Your forum seems pretty sure that the transmission through receiving oral sex is very low or neglible. Could I be the first one? I come from a dearly loved home and i had made the greatest mistake of my life. Love you for the work you do.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,