Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Facial WastingFacial Wasting

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Lipoatrophy in Indonesia, limited options
Jan 27, 2011

Hello doc, I am martin from Indonesia, I was infected with hiv since 2001.

I've been using drugs since 2006, I have changed the drug 2 times, the first was AZT + 3TC + NVP (not suitable: rash, fever, itching), the second is the AZT + 3TC + Evafirenz (not suitable: minor depression , gynecimastia) now that I use is a combination of AZT + 3TC + TDF (triple nukes) and it is suitable for me because my last Viraload undetectable and CD4 count rose to 530. But it's the fat on my body more and more exhausted (especially around the face, buttocks and legs). I have consulted with several doctors in Indonesia, one of which recommends to replace the combination of drugs to line 2 (Aluvia) and others suggested to survive in order to save the second line for my future. The second line of ARV is the last combination available today in my country. What should I do doc? Remained in the AZT +3 TC + TDF or replace them with line 2?

Need your wise advice

Thx

-M-

Response from Dr. Pierone

Hello, and thanks for posting.

The main culprit in your regimen with regard to lipoatrophy is AZT. Aluvia is Kaletra, a protease inhibitor. There are studies that show stopping AZT will slow down, and perhaps reverse the loss of fat that you are experiencing.