Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Mixed-HIV-Status CouplesMixed-HIV-Status Couples

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Will HIV show up faster in one person vs another?
Jan 21, 2006

I found out that I was Positive in October after being seriously ill in Sept. My partner got tested after I told him and tested negative. My only other partner since my last testing is also testing negative. But since I was so sick in Sept I thought I had just contracted it from my current partner. Is it possible that he could have had it and gave it to me but only tested negative b/c it can take up to 6 months to show up?

Response from Dr. Remien

I am not a medical expert, but yes, it is "possible" for somebody to test "antibody" negative while infected with HIV. It does take some time for the immune system to develop antibodies to the virus, which is what the standard HIV test measures. Most people develop detectable antibodies within three months (or less). And with increasing sensitivity of the antibody tests, many people will test antibody positive within weeks of infection.

However, it is important for people to know that when someone is recently (i.e., acutely) infected, that person is usually highly infectious due to a high viral load that typically occurs prior to the development of HIV antibodies. There is a test that can detect actual virus in the absence of antibodies and this is essentially a viral load test (i.e., the test that people living with HIV have regularly in their doctors' offices). If people are concerned about a possible "recent" infection, they should discuss this with their doctor, or an HIV test counselor, and if it seems warranted, a viral load test can be done, along with a standard HIV antibody test.