Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Mixed-HIV-Status CouplesMixed-HIV-Status Couples

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Questions about dating a positive man
Feb 27, 2005

Hey there Dr., I am a healthy 25 y/o male that is dating an older male that has had HIV for over 15 years and is a non-progressor. I know I am negative and have a few questions as he is a really great guy and I am a PhD scientist that works on diagnostics and just need a reality check since I am so analytical! :)

So, I understand that even deep kissing is not a risk factor and have gotten over those concerns. We have a conveniently safe relationship in the respect that I am the more active partner and he is more passive. So we kiss, touch, and mutually masterbate, but I even do that with a glove when I am giving him an orgasm. I also like to gently bite and suck his neck, but not in a way that would draw blood. He sometimes licks my cock with his tongue only, but if I receive oral sex, I even use a condom. Also, I masage him anally, but with a latex glove on as well. He also licks me anally, but this should not be a factor either, as far as I have read.

Am I missing anything, or is all of this non-risk activity. The reason I ask is simple. I simply want to enjoy these things, feel good with my partner and not worry about having to be tested frequently if I know we are monogamous and only do things such as the ones presented above. And, we are both happy with the list of activities above and do not need to engage in anything risky, so knowing that my logic is correct would be of great pleasure to my mind.

Thanks for your help.

Response from Dr. Remien