Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Mixed-HIV-Status CouplesMixed-HIV-Status Couples

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Future for +M & -F?
Jan 1, 2003

I was recently diagnosed positive, and I have probably been infected for about 6 months. My wife is Negative. Although we still have sex, using condoms, she has started voicing concerns about a 'normal' sexual relationship. And rightly so. Our health advisor has told us that she will not need to go for another test so long as we continue to be cautious. And we will! By the way, her idea of 'normal' sex is unprotected (with her using birth control). My question is this (and bear in mind I am new to this): Is a vaccine, to protect her, a possibility in the near future? I understand there are tests undergoing, how successful are they going? Are they likely to be published soon? Etc. I think my problem is worrying whether she will leave me because I cant give her what she wants. I dont have any hangups about any other part of sex, and besides that no worries about anything else regarding our relationship. I guess the question I want answered is: Can my wife and I enjoy a 'normal' sex life?

Response from Dr. Remien