Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

AIDS-Related CancersAIDS-Related Cancers

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

No more chemotherapy for me; chemotherapy is hell on earth
Oct 14, 2001

I finished two rounds of chemotherapy.In the last couple of days I've notice swelling and tenderness just under my left underarm and I've been having a lot of neck pain and stiffness past two weeks. I told my boss that my job is too stressful. I'm a nurse and currently doing the job that 3 nurses did when I started; now it's only me and I still have the same or more work than when 3 of us did it. Could stress be doing this or do you think this is something to worry about? No fevers or nightsweats, just VERY tired. HIV is undectable and CD4 280 last count while doing chemotherapy. I can't afford to work less. I have to work.I worked the entire time I was on chemotherapy. Thank you, I just don't want to do anymore chemotherapy it's hell on earth.

Response from Dr. Dezube